Medicinal Flora of Roorkee Area, Haridwar, Uttarakhand

  • Language:
  • English
  • Genre(s):
  • Other Textbooks
  • ISBN13:
  • 9789391145262
  • ISBN10:
  • 9391145264
  • Format:
  • Paperback
  • Trim:
  • 8x10
  • Pages:
  • 148
  • Publication date:
  • 28-Apr-2021
  •   Available, Ships in 3-5 days
  •   10 Days Replacement Policy
  •   Sold & Fullfilled by WalnutPublication
Book Blurb

Medicinal and aromatic plants have been used in the country for a long time for their medicinal properties. About 2,000 native plant species have curative properties. The district Haridwar in Uttarakhand state has been the reservoir of enormous natural resources including vegetational wealth. The main trees are observed in open area viz Jatropha curcas, Ziziphus oenoplia, Murraya koenigii, Silk flox tree (Ceiba speciosa), Caryota urens, Jacaranda mimosifolia, Toona sinensis, Cassia seamia, Vachellia nilotica, Melia azedarach & Delonix regia. Roorkee is on the banks of the Ganges canal and close to the foothills of Himalayas the soil of the area is good for the cultivation of various agricultural and medicinal products. Roorkee lies from 29°51'47.27" North latitude and 77°53'28.54"East longitude. Roorkee block lies in the center of the district between Bhagwanpur and Bahadarabad block. Plain region is entirely plain which is composed of recent alluvium. A part of the total study is taken up for the research study area. In the overall study here discussed about 135 medicinal floras which are found in part of Roorkee area.

Avadhesh Kumar Koshal
Avadhesh Kumar Koshal

Dr. Avadhesh Kumar Koshal is a Professor in the Faculty of Science at Motherhood University, Roorkee, Haridwar, Uttarakhand. He received his M.Phil. degree & PhD from Department of Botany, C.C.S. University, Meerut, Uttar Pradesh & written 10 book chapters & published more than 28 research papers in international & national Journals. His research interest includes technology and applications of Remote sensing & GIS, Climatic change, Environmental issues and Eco-physiology. He received Young Fellow Award (2009), Young Scientist Award (2013), Young Environmentalist Award (2017), Best Scientist (Teaching ) Award (2018), & Best Faculty Award in (2019).

Menu 4Cart